Author Topic: Layout considerations for wired ETH  (Read 990 times)

Offline Sudo_apt-get_install_yumTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Layout considerations for wired ETH
« on: November 28, 2022, 09:08:26 am »
Hello everyone.

I'm working on a project with wired ETH, its my first time working with it so I've done a lot of reading but have a few questions that I think more experience designers might know the answer to!

The design is split over two PCBs due to physical space constrains. The boards will be galvanically isolated from each other and connected through a <10 cm FFC.
I've done a mockup drawing, left board is the processor board with MAC an the right board is the I/O-board.

The issue is that I would prefer if all connectors would be on the same PCB (I/O-board) for easier access and maintainability but I'm not sure of running ETH through a semi long FFC.
The processor contains the MAC and an external PHY-chip is connected to the processor through RMII, I might use MII but would prefer RMII due to fewer pins.
My understanding is that the trace length between the magnetics and connector should be as short as possible (< 25 mm)  and not deviate to much from 100Ω while the length between the PHY and magnetics should be longer than 25 mm.
The issue is that I don't want to run both isolated signals and non-isolated signals in the same FFC especially when one is "high speed" ETH (10 Mbit/s).
And running high speed PHY through a FFC cant be to good either? The specifications & design guidelines for RMII doesn't seem to crazy. But it might just be my lack of knowledge with ETH.

Is this a dead end and am I forced to place the ETH connector on the processors PCB or is there a good way to route PHY or twisted-pair semi far through a FFC while preferably maintaining the same signal reference in the FFC?
Is it possible to route the PHY through its own FCC or is it to unreliable?