Author Topic: Li ion battery charger with multiple charge points  (Read 2676 times)

Offline rakeshm55Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Li ion battery charger with multiple charge points
« on: May 29, 2012, 05:40:46 pm »
Hi,
In one of my application I need to meet the following requirement for charging 10 Li ion batteries simultaneously.
Requirement -
Single cell Li ion charger 3.7V
Channels - 10
Charge current - 1A.
Charge Mode - CC-CV
Indication - LED (Charging , and Done) for each channel
Input Voltage - 230V AC

I have only worked with Linear chargers (Li ion )before .

Here should I use a Linear or Switching type?? Considering the thermal management etc.
I have never worked with 230V before will I get plug in modules which can handle the 10A current rating.... Will a PC SMPS do the trick for 5V high current o/p from line??
Can any one suggest a suitable cabinet for such a design

Any suggestions are welcome

Offline T4P

• Super Contributor
    • T4P
Re: Li ion battery charger with multiple charge points
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 06:33:15 pm »
Of course switching ...
You should use 12V as input voltage but ah well

Offline rakeshm55Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 04:58:48 am »

I have seen many of Battery chargers and Battery fuel guages have Thermistors for temperature monitor
Why do we use an NTC (thermistors) when charging battery???
Is it to monitor the charger IC temp or battery pack temp or just surrounding temperature....

Offline T4P

• Super Contributor
    • T4P
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2012, 08:48:45 am »

I have seen many of Battery chargers and Battery fuel guages have Thermistors for temperature monitor
Why do we use an NTC (thermistors) when charging battery???
Is it to monitor the charger IC temp or battery pack temp or just surrounding temperature....