Author Topic: Millivolt generation for Load Cell Simulator  (Read 836 times)

Offline vtx22Topic starter

Millivolt generation for Load Cell Simulator
« on: May 16, 2022, 10:27:47 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm a student currrently working on a project for my university / for my work and I think I need some help and some ideas.

What is the project about?

I have to design a load cell simulator. Imagine you are creating software for an industrial weighing system (like a SIWAREX module for example). Instead of testing your ideas in the field you try to analyze and verify the behaviour in the lab. Currently we are using a manual setup for those tests: You turn a potentiometer knob to change the weight, you press buttons for digital outputs etc.
My task is it to automate those tests. The software part is not the problem, I am currently stuck on the hardware, more precisely on the load cell voltage generation. So the voltage that is proportional to the weight.

Hardware prequesits:

I have to use a Raspberry Pi for the base of the simulator
More importantly: I have to use a second add-on board that generates the analog voltages that have to be converted into the load cell voltage, so those are fix

The task im currently stuck on:

I have to create a circuit that uses the add-on board volatages (0 - 10V analog, 2 channels) to generate the differential load cell voltage. The load cell voltage is dependant on a lot of factors, so i cannot use a simple voltage divider type circuit (i guess at least).

Wheatstone bridge loadcell working priciple:
1488202-0

As you can see: I have to generate a differential voltage between the SIG+ and SIG- lines of the loadcell. The DC voltage of the cell is half the exitation voltage (here EXC=5V).  Those voltages are quiete small, and I have to mimic different types of load cells (1mV/V to 4mV/V). With possible EXC voltages from 5V to 10V the maximum differential voltage is 40mV.

What I have done so far: