Electronics > Projects, Designs, and Technical Stuff

More current source ppms

(1/2) > >>

Terry Bites:
https://e2e.ti.com/support/amplifiers-group/amplifiers/f/amplifiers-forum/1029145/faq-how-to-achieve-0-01-constant-current-accuracy-for-dc-power-supply?HQS=sys-ind-tm-precisionb-exexnl-ta-ElectronicDesign-wwe&DCM=yes&dclid=CJaxh7vx1vMCFeenUQoddQgLiA

David Hess:
So 100 ppm accuracy over some combination of line, load, time, and temperature?  Was this a problem which needed solving with a better instrumentation amplifier?

I think Texas Instruments was looking for a way to showcase their INA188 solving a problem through brute force which was previously solved with a different circuit topology.

guymo:

--- Quote from: David Hess on October 20, 2021, 07:13:29 pm ---I think Texas Instruments was looking for a way to showcase their INA188 solving a problem through brute force which was previously solved with a different circuit topology.

--- End quote ---

As a relative beginner I am intrigued by this: what alternate circuit topology would be the standard / better solution? I've seen this exact topology in a lot of places recently (looking at SMU schematics for example) but perhaps I'm overlooking some key differences.

David Hess:

--- Quote from: guymo on October 22, 2021, 02:38:06 pm ---
--- Quote from: David Hess on October 20, 2021, 07:13:29 pm ---I think Texas Instruments was looking for a way to showcase their INA188 solving a problem through brute force which was previously solved with a different circuit topology.
--- End quote ---

As a relative beginner I am intrigued by this: what alternate circuit topology would be the standard / better solution? I've seen this exact topology in a lot of places recently (looking at SMU schematics for example) but perhaps I'm overlooking some key differences.
--- End quote ---