Author Topic: My Battery Discharge Analyser Project  (Read 7627 times)

Offline andygTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • gock.net
My Battery Discharge Analyser Project
« on: January 23, 2011, 12:52:37 pm »
This is my first post on the forums, I've watched all the awesome videos, and funny after watching the last post about the batteries, is that I am actually working on a open source project about analysing battery discharge curves. So I thought I'd post this and show it off :)

A while ago, I thought I'd make my own battery discharge analyser, something that can discharge a battery and log the voltage curve. So I built my own based on the Arduino. I made one on prototype board with the Atmega chip in it, a MOSFET on a old fan cooled computer CPU heatsink, it works okay, theres a few issues to iron out, but in general it does what I want it to do.

This is my first "real" project other than flashing LEDs etc, I do have a slight engineering education but I now work as a professional photographer and do some work in electronics manufacturing (assembly). But I like to tinker around a bit with electronics as a hobby.

Heres some photos of the prototype:

As part of my work in manufacturing, I have the pleasure of being able to use Altium Designer also, so I have made a SMD board of the project, that I might get made. I don't know how much interest there would be out there, so I was wondering if anyone out there had any input on whether this might be worth forking out the dollars for a real board etc, as-in, would anyone buy it? Is there a market potential here in the maker, hobbyist area?

Heres a 3D render of the board:

The PCB isn't ready yet, its just a preview of work in progress. Theres a few more things that need to be done (e.g double checking everything, cleaning up silkscreen, LCD mounting holes etc)

Thanks!

Andy

• Regular Contributor
    • gock.net
Re: My Battery Discharge Analyser Project
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 12:55:32 pm »