Author Topic: My first serious design = 5.1 Ch - Amp Switch  (Read 1358 times)

Offline LundaaTopic starter

My first serious design = 5.1 Ch - Amp Switch
« on: August 14, 2022, 02:44:09 pm »
Hi Everybody

So I finally came around to register on Dave's site, I have only been watching the bloody show for the last couple of years.
Love the teardowns and "everyones favorite segment" MAILBAG!  :-+

I have been messing around the idea of making a relay-operated switch, to switch between my retro stereo-setup and a more modern 5.1 setup, on the same speakers.

And this is what I have come up with so far.

I have some concerns about noise, but I am a novice designer and would like to hear what this excellent community has to say.

This might have come in the wrong fourm ... if an OP moves the topic I have no issues with that.  :palm:
« Last Edit: August 14, 2022, 03:00:06 pm by Lundaa »

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: My first serious design = 5.1 Ch - Amp Switch
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2022, 05:27:20 pm »
Will both amplifiers function properly without speakers? Do you let the amplifiers continue working without speakers?  Some amplifiers aren't happy if/when you suddenly remove the speakers.

I would think something like turn off / unplug amplifier 1 , wait 1s, switch relays, wait 1s, turn on amplifier 2 would make more sense. So that means either a microcontroller or some time delay circuit / logic.
With a microcontroller, you would also be able to use bi-stable relays, so that once they're switched, you don't need to keep sending power to the relays.
Actually even without a microcontroller, you could probably have a slide switch  [amp 1]  -- off - [ amp 2]  or something like that, and depending on the slide switch position you would reverse the polarity to the relays and flip them as needed.

I'd also add a capacitor at the input, something like 100uF 25v... also don't be cheap and add a diode on each relay primary winding.

Offline Boscoe