Author Topic: New circuit for 3W led emergency light (my first project)  (Read 753 times)

Offline mijucTopic starter

New circuit for 3W led emergency light (my first project)
« on: March 19, 2023, 03:43:54 pm »
Hi guys.I am new to the world of electronics and pcb design. I'm curious what you guys think about this circuit and if it would work. I want to adapt the old LED emergency lights, which worked on lead acid batteries, to lithium ion batteries (18650). It would use a single 18650 cell with a bms.I would not change the cases, and on them I have the option of selecting the operating mode and the charging indicator, as well as the test button, which I would not use. As for the modes of operation, I chose to have 3 modes.
1. Low luminous (lower current)
2. Normal mode for emergency lights
3. High luminous (higher current)
The case is of the closed type, so I worked with a regular capacitor dropper, because it is the cheapest. Which will convert my AC input (220V) to 7.5V. The circuit with LEDs has a voltage drop of 5V (I want to use them at 100mA, i.e. when their voltage is 6V and at 300mA, i.e. at a voltage of 7V). For the led driver, I used a PT4115 chip that will control my current (it's easier for me to use 2 resistors for current control than another 555 circuit to dictate PWM on the dim pin). Due to insufficient voltage from one 18650 cell, I had to make a boost converter with MT3608 chip. I know that I should test the circuit on a breadboard first, but I don't have all the components, and I don't have anywhere to buy them because I live in Serbia.. and it's not worth it for me to wait for them from China, because the delivery will take a month or 2. So I'm interested in yours opinion, where I went wrong and better options for this circuit. I've seen people rebuild circuits from old lamps but I didn't like the concepts they were working on.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: New circuit for 3W led emergency light (my first project)