Author Topic: Noise on audio circuit when powered externally  (Read 7925 times)

Offline alexigTopic starter

• Contributor
Noise on audio circuit when powered externally
« on: October 23, 2014, 11:42:27 am »
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to audio circuits in general and am working on a simple microphone boost circuit which works well with a 3V coin cell however when I switch to USB to power it (battery removed, of course), there's a bit of noise in the 200Hz to 10KHz range, with a peak at ~2.5KHz and I am at a loss as to how to filter it. I also build a PCB with it but have the same issues.

The USB goes to an 3V LDO and have tried multi-stage 220 ohm/100uF RC filters, 15uH / 47uF LC filters, SMD ferrite beeds (taken from other boards), a thick winded choke (taken from an ATX power supply), all on the USB before the LDO but none seem to work.

I salvaged an isolated DC-DC converter (NMA0505S) and can see the noise has reduced a little bit, but it's really just shifted to a lower frequency now - peak from 2.5KHz to peak at 1KHz now.

Am I asking too much gain on the opamp? Should I add a filter to the opamp itself? Or am I just missing something?

I'm using a program on the iPhone called N-track Tuner, no mic is connected and no filtering are applied to these.
Here's the how it looks with the coin cell which looks good:

With USB:

With isolated DC-DC converter:

Schematic: (0.1uF are ceramics and 10uF are electrolytics)

Thanks,
Alex

Offline fcb

• Super Contributor
  • Test instrument designer/G1YWC
    • Electron Plus
Re: Noise on audio circuit when powered externally
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 11:58:20 am »
Ferrite beads and small chokes won't have much effect if your noise peak is at a couple of KHz.

You'll need to check your ground plane/traces carefully (especially around the regulators), use bulk capacitance and possibly RC type filters. Look up gyrators too.