Author Topic: PIC 16F877A Port unstable  (Read 10670 times)

Offline mukulkhairatkarTopic starter

• Contributor
PIC 16F877A Port unstable
« on: June 23, 2010, 06:53:18 am »
Guys,

I am fairly new to Hardware design and PIC programming currently working on PIC 16F877A. I have initialized PORTA and PORTB in input mode and PORTC and PORTE in output mode. Based on logic present the input port, I am setting logic on output port. In idle condition output ports remain zero. But sometimes it jumps to logic 1 and then back to zero. This behavior is pretty random and I am not able to understand the problem. Do you have any suggestion or possibilities I can try to stop this unwanted oscillation?

I am using simple while loop to run the operation and if/else statements to compare input port logic.

any help is appreciated...   Thanks in advance

MAK

alm

Re: PIC 16F877A Port unstable
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2010, 07:14:34 am »
I'm not that familiar with PIC, but I'll give some general suggestions. Are there pull-up/down resistors on the inputs (or did you enable the internal pull-ups)? Otherwise, noise might couple into the inputs, never let a CMOS input float. Did you decouple the power supply with a ceramic capacitor between power and ground close to each power pin? Did you connect all power and ground pins (not sure if the device you're using has multiple)?

Offline scrat

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2010, 08:22:10 am »
I think it is a simple but subtle matter (but maybe you've already checked it)...
It remembers to me when at school we were using CMOS logic ports and a BJT to drive a small lamp... It turned into something like a proximity sensor, since when someone got near the open input the lamp turned on. It was simply because of noise coupling with the open input of the CMOS port (and our body antenna effect).
MOS devices have high input impedance, so any small power signal can create a relatively high voltage at their gate.