Author Topic: Please critique my STM32 board  (Read 1817 times)

Offline hendrixTopic starter

• Contributor
Please critique my STM32 board
« on: November 26, 2022, 10:54:55 am »
Hello,

I'm an industrial designer by trade, which means I'm a complete novice in electronics. Although I do basic electronic boards from time to time, I have never made an STM32 board before, so, any insight on what I should change would be appreciated.

The board is designed to enable the gathering of multiple NTC thermistor data from drivers and motors of a 3D printer and report them to Klipper software via CAN bus. The board is a OSHW and aimed to have the following features:

- STM32F103RBT6 MCU
- USB port for DFU and to enable USB protocol rather than CAN bus if need be (It's USB C because I have a lot more of these cables now)
- USB power jumper to enable programming without giving the board VDD
- CAN ports for CAN bus protocol (supported by Klipper)
- 120R CAN termination jumper to finalize CAN bus
- SWD port
- USART port
- Boot push switch and Reset push switch to ease going into the programming state
- 2 x LEDs, one for POWER state, one for SWD state
- 16 x ADC points to attach 16 x NTC thermistors

Thank you.

Kicad V6 files are attached.

Edit: Realized I forgot to add pin names for USART and SWD, updated.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2022, 11:27:37 am by hendrix »

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Please critique my STM32 board
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2022, 06:33:56 pm »
You need 5.1K pull-down resistors on the CCx pins of the USB connector.

I would also use external pull-up on the reset, since you decided to add the capacitor. Internal pull-up value is relatively high and variable, might lead to unexpected differences in behavior between the devices.

Alex

The following users thanked this post: hendrix

Offline Martinn

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2022, 07:18:23 pm »