Author Topic: project: extending HP3478A functionality  (Read 61191 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #225 on: October 27, 2022, 07:57:14 pm »
It should respond to UART commands without any connections. Just the bare board.

I think yes it does. If I send text over serial monitor it appears in the console. I don't have experience with Arduino, sorry

I needed load a serial sketch to do that
It's good to know, that the UART works. But you'd get the response from the hp3478-ext firmware. Just to know that it's loaded and works.
It should respond with the <GPIB> prompt.

The connector pinout is standard. Just google "GPIB pinout". You'd find the pictures of the connector with the pin names and numbers.

unfortunately didn't work, i check the wiring and pinout, change the arduino for another (both new) and nothing, seems like the software is not running.

what software do you use for sending requests to the arduino?

best regards.


Pio
« Last Edit: October 28, 2022, 01:14:32 am by yo0 »
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #226 on: October 28, 2022, 03:38:20 pm »
what software do you use for sending requests to the arduino?
kermit
Using the following settings:
open port /dev/ttyUSB0
set flow-control none
set carrier-watch off
set speed 115200
set terminal lf-display crlf
connect

I don't think that incorrect settings in the eeprom is an issue here. But I recommend also programming the eeprom (eep file) to be sure.
And please, disconnect the gpib connector. First we need to know that the serial communication is working.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2022, 03:40:00 pm by kirill_ka »
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #227 on: October 28, 2022, 08:35:50 pm »
what software do you use for sending requests to the arduino?
kermit
Using the following settings:
open port /dev/ttyUSB0
set flow-control none
set carrier-watch off
set speed 115200
set terminal lf-display crlf
connect

I don't think that incorrect settings in the eeprom is an issue here. But I recommend also programming the eeprom (eep file) to be sure.
And please, disconnect the gpib connector. First we need to know that the serial communication is working.

thank you, I think the software is running :)

++addr
++ver

So I think the wiring is the culprit or perhaps me :D

now i need figure out where is the mistake.


Pio
« Last Edit: October 28, 2022, 09:58:52 pm by yo0 »
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #228 on: October 29, 2022, 08:53:26 am »
thank you, I think the software is running :)
:-+
Keep on trying! Eventually it will work :)
The next task is to get a reading from the 3478 through the serial.
Try ++read
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #229 on: November 02, 2022, 12:33:49 am »
thank you, I think the software is running :)
:-+
Keep on trying! Eventually it will work :)
The next task is to get a reading from the 3478 through the serial.
Try ++read

thank you!  it reads!

so what's next?

best regards



Pio
« Last Edit: November 02, 2022, 12:45:08 am by yo0 »
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #230 on: November 02, 2022, 06:46:56 am »


thank you!  it reads!

so what's next?


Then it just works. To enable the extended functions of the 3478, enter OX1w command (before entering any of the ++ commands).
This is also can be done by flashing the eeprom (eep file).
Then you should see "init ok" after OX1 or during the start up.
All the functions are initialted with the SRQ key. Also enable "power on SRQ" with the dip switch on the back of 3478. It allows the firmware to know when the 3478 is initialized.

Some of the steps above are mentioned in the hp3478 ext documentation. But it's outdated, I know...
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #231 on: November 04, 2022, 01:48:36 am »
Thank you, now it works, just something strange occurs after the self test ok , two different screens, one with the power on sqr switch and other without it active.

Maybe 250ms delay isn't enough.

Any ideas?

best regards.

Pio
« Last Edit: November 04, 2022, 05:09:28 am by yo0 »
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #232 on: November 04, 2022, 09:59:54 am »
Thank you, now it works, just something strange occurs after the self test ok , two different screens, one with the power on sqr switch and other without it active.

Maybe 250ms delay isn't enough.

Any ideas?

best regards.

Pio

Do you power the arduino board externally?
If yes, then those errors are probably normal. The 250ms delay only counts if the atmega and the 3478 are started simultaneously.
Please, monitor the error codes for some time and tell me if something different appears. If they only happen during the start up, I can disable them.
Are the "power on srq" and "no power on srq" errors consistently different?
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #233 on: November 04, 2022, 11:48:14 am »
Pio, It's a bit strange, that you are getting E:2F000005 and E:30000003
Those codes are not happening on the first attempt to send something to the 3478.
So there's a slight chance that the errors indicate some of the GPIB control lines are not wired up correctly.
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #234 on: November 04, 2022, 04:16:32 pm »
Thank you, now it works, just something strange occurs after the self test ok , two different screens, one with the power on sqr switch and other without it active.

Maybe 250ms delay isn't enough.

Any ideas?

best regards.

Pio

Do you power the arduino board externally?
If yes, then those errors are probably normal. The 250ms delay only counts if the atmega and the 3478 are started simultaneously.
Please, monitor the error codes for some time and tell me if something different appears. If they only happen during the start up, I can disable them.
Are the "power on srq" and "no power on srq" errors consistently different?


yes i power it externally, if i power up the multimeter first got no error messages, the error codes stay the same for both srq switch states. E:30000003 for off and E:2F000005 for on,  every time got the same code, i  keep the power on srq switch to on as your advice. i am evaluating if it keep external attached or internal (have hard time soldering to ic sockets). can disable the displayed error codes via commands at the terminal?


best regards and thank you again for your valuable help and kindness.

Pio

 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #235 on: November 04, 2022, 04:19:46 pm »
Pio, It's a bit strange, that you are getting E:2F000005 and E:30000003
Those codes are not happening on the first attempt to send something to the 3478.
So there's a slight chance that the errors indicate some of the GPIB control lines are not wired up correctly.

i recheck the wiring and it match your table.

Pio

 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #236 on: November 07, 2022, 08:05:05 am »
can disable the displayed error codes via commands at the terminal?
Please, try the attached version. I've added the option.
Oerr_disp0w should disable the on-screen codes.
Disclaimer: I've not tried it yet myself :)
 

Offline yo0

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 133
  • Country: mx
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #237 on: November 14, 2022, 05:48:03 pm »
thank you, it works!, now if i turn off the dmm the terminal connected to the arduino show errors, but i think it is normal.


best regards :)

Pio
« Last Edit: March 12, 2023, 04:23:58 pm by yo0 »
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #238 on: December 23, 2022, 02:38:18 pm »
As someone may have noted :) The hp3478ext has a temperature measurement function.
It only supports 1kOhm 3850 ppm/K RTDs. The constants for which are hardcoded.
Yesterday I found a source of cheap sensors: https://aliexpress.com/item/32872179878.html
They look similar to the Honeywell sensor (700-102BAB-B00) that I have.

Hi Kirill,

How do you access that function? I think that I asked and I think that you answered, so forgive me if I'm too lazy to look through all the posts but did you publish a complete, updated menu tree anywhere. I know there is one in reply#19 but I think is obsolete by now.

Cheers,
Miti
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #239 on: December 23, 2022, 07:41:06 pm »
Hi Miti,

It shows up as TEMP when you cycle through with SRQ key in OHMS mode.
But it's hidden when there's nothing connected.
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #240 on: December 23, 2022, 10:24:46 pm »
Aha, I found it, it didn't show up with the input open. However, it is not dynamic for me, it only reads the temperature once when i select the function and doesn't change when I change the resistance. I don't have an RTD, I simulated it with 100Ohm and 82Ohm.
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #241 on: December 24, 2022, 04:52:18 am »
Aha, I found it, it didn't show up with the input open. However, it is not dynamic for me, it only reads the temperature once when i select the function and doesn't change when I change the resistance. I don't have an RTD, I simulated it with 100Ohm and 82Ohm.
It only has 1K RTD constants compiled in. So I'd try 1000 and 820 instead :)
I use 1k because it's more suitable for 2 wire measurements.
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #242 on: December 24, 2022, 12:34:17 pm »
Aha, I found it, it didn't show up with the input open. However, it is not dynamic for me, it only reads the temperature once when i select the function and doesn't change when I change the resistance. I don't have an RTD, I simulated it with 100Ohm and 82Ohm.
It only has 1K RTD constants compiled in. So I'd try 1000 and 820 instead :)
I use 1k because it's more suitable for 2 wire measurements.

And that’s exactly what I used, 1k and 820Ohm but… brain fart.
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #243 on: December 24, 2022, 01:19:22 pm »
However, it is not dynamic for me, it only reads the temperature once when i select the function and doesn't change when I change the resistance.
Which revision are you using by the way?
It just came up to me that there was a bug fixed in rev2.1.

Recently I checked accuracy with a body thermometer. The readings were rather close (~0.2K difference). I think it's ok as I'm just using generic RTD constants.
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #244 on: December 24, 2022, 04:09:37 pm »
Which revision are you using by the way?
It just came up to me that there was a bug fixed in rev2.1.

Recently I checked accuracy with a body thermometer. The readings were rather close (~0.2K difference). I think it's ok as I'm just using generic RTD constants.

I was behind with the updates. I don't know what revision was because it wasn't showing at ++ver but definitely was one with the bug. I updated to 2.2 and it works now.

Thanks Kirill!
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #245 on: December 24, 2022, 07:29:54 pm »
Kirill,

I'm trying your extension with this software:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-34401a-standalone-software

For some reason I can't make it work. Do you know why? Have you tried this SW?
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #246 on: December 25, 2022, 06:42:19 pm »
For some reason I can't make it work. Do you know why? Have you tried this SW?
Hi Miti,

I'll take a look. Maybe it's using some of the ++ commands which are not implemented in hp3478ext.
Thanks for the link, interesting software!
Corrected link: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-34401a-standalone-software/
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #247 on: December 29, 2022, 08:05:22 pm »
Kirill,

I'm trying your extension with this software:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-34401a-standalone-software

For some reason I can't make it work. Do you know why? Have you tried this SW?

The first issue was <LF> line termination. Now the hp3478ext supports <CR>, <LF> and <CR><LF>.
The second issue caused by the "software" continuously issuing ++read command. And the hp3478ext did not support command interruption which caused loss of any other commands.
Fixed in https://github.com/KIrill-ka/hp3478ext/releases/tag/r2.3
Now it works ok, besides that the first connection attempt fails (unless command echo is disabled with OI0w).
Second attempt should work even if echo is enabled.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2022, 08:36:24 pm by kirill_ka »
 

Offline kirill_kaTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 292
  • Country: ru
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #248 on: December 29, 2022, 08:28:14 pm »
Note that "hp-34401a-standalone-software" seems to have some serious issues with the way how it updates the readings.
1. It doesn't check the actual status of HP3478A. It just sends the range switch command without checking the result.
2. The displayed range is updated immediately while it still displays previous readings.
3. In my setup it seriously lags behind the HP3478A. For example, if I switch from V to  \$\Omega\$, it displays past V readings as Ohms for a good few seconds.

Maybe my 12 year old core i5 CPU is not fast enough to keep up with 40 year old MCU of the HP3478A?
 

Offline Miti

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1324
  • Country: ca
Re: project: extending HP3478A functionality
« Reply #249 on: December 29, 2022, 11:46:22 pm »
Thanks Kirill, it works now but I see those issues as well and my laptop is I7  ;D.
If I set it to fast, beside lagging behind the instrument, I see something that looks like burst reading. It updates fast a number of times and then it freezes for half a second or so. This happens with AR488 as well.
Fear does not stop death, it stops life.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf