Author Topic: Q on board-to-board connectors  (Read 766 times)

Offline Jonathon_DoranTopic starter

• Contributor
Q on board-to-board connectors
« on: March 21, 2023, 06:53:07 pm »
I'm thinking of splitting a design into two boards rather than one.  One area I think would be done best as a 4-layer board.  Another is a lot of switches, and I don't see why this shouldn't be done as a two layer board.  I'm thinking:  Why spend money on extra layers when I don't think they will help.

This would require some sort of board-to-board connector, and I have no experience with this.  I would like something that is reliable.  I don't see a lot of connection cycles.  I'd rather not need to buy crimpers etc for a single project.

We are talking low voltage, almost no current.  Some LEDs would need power, but mainly switches.

Any recommendations?

Offline langwadt

• Super Contributor
Re: Q on board-to-board connectors
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2023, 07:36:03 pm »
is it worth that hassle to save a little on the board?

Offline n4u

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2023, 07:47:31 pm »
Easiest way is using pin header (if u want one board on another). BTW you don't need crimpers for awg cable / crimp connector - u can make it using pliers (but u will buy crimpers sooner or later).
TIP You can use MUX, or small uC if you have a lot of buttons /switches, and then use serial standard to connect between boards.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2023, 07:49:42 pm by n4u »

The following users thanked this post: Jonathon_Doran

Offline jmw

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2023, 08:04:47 pm »
Sounds like a false economy unless you're using a certain PCB house known for purple boards and charging by the square inch. In which case, maybe consider somewhere else.

But otherwise, how about flat flex cables? Pre-cut to length, no crimping, and pennies per cable if you order from LCSC.

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2023, 08:19:49 pm »