Author Topic: Reverse engineering FNIRSI-5012H  (Read 110089 times)

Online ataradovTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Reverse engineering FNIRSI-5012H
« Reply #325 on: September 19, 2020, 03:16:56 am »
Hardware-wise the debugger is fine. I've never used ST-Link or its clones, so I have no idea what software works with it.

The comment applies to the debuggers that have voltage level shifters to accommodate multiple target voltage levels. In this case the debugger is fixed at 3.3 V.

The debugger will be powered from the USB, the target will be powered from the battery. Both sides are fixed at 3.3 V, so there are no issues with voltage levels.
Alex

Offline neuralsim

• Contributor
« Reply #326 on: September 29, 2020, 10:25:07 pm »
OK, I've got everything now. Silly me, I only ordered 1 replacement chip :/ I can buy more but they take a long time to ship of course.

I'm kind of new to soldering. I bought an SMD rework station, but the air gun doesn't really work all that well. I happen to have some SMD breakout boards and a bunch of SMD cmos chips I ordered by accident (meant to get through-hole chips). So I figure I'll practice with that. To get the original chip off, I'm thinking I'll just use solder-wick instead of trying to use the air gun to heat it off the board. Then I'll do my best to mount the new one.

I'm really nervous about this, any tips to help me succeed, other than practice a bunch?

I'm really looking forward to flashing the new firmware on! Also, as I mentioned earlier, I'm a professional software engineer. I'll be happy to contribute any improvements I make to the firmware, assuming I succeed with the hardware mod! Alex, is there anything in particular you think needs work and you aren't actively working on now, or have put on the back-burner?

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #327 on: September 29, 2020, 11:09:24 pm »