Author Topic: Schematic / PCB review  (Read 669 times)

Offline MT_266Topic starter

Schematic / PCB review
« on: August 01, 2021, 09:17:12 am »
Hi, everyone.

I'm working on a small and battery powered CO2 Sensor. As I'm new to making PCBs and have no experience I'd highly appreciate it if some of you could take a look at what I have done so far and maybe answer a few questions.
I've included everything in the attachments - even the zipped KiCad Project if anyone wants to take a more detailed look than just from the included images.

The project consists of a MCU for low power application, a 2.8V LDO (to be able to run from 3V battery), the CO2 Sensor and an E-Paper Display (The v2 of the Waveshare 1.54'' Display).
The CO2 Sensor uses I2C to communicate with the MCU and the E-Paper uses Half-Duplex SPI. (There also is a temperature Sensor included in the CO2 Sensor which I will also use for the E-Paper).
There is a green, yellow and red LED which I will turn on dependent on the level of CO2 measured (Those will be connected through wires to the PCB).

For some parts like the decoupling of the LDO the datasheets told me really precisely what values to use.
For the E-Paper there is a reference circuit which I included in the attachments and tried to reproduce in the schematic / PCB. If I understood correctly it is a charge pump to produce the voltage required to update the display.
Though I'm not sure if I read the reference correctly. Their labeling confused me bit (like the 3.3V on VDDIO. Is it just a notice or should I connect it?) and there are no notes regarding the layout on the PCB.
The diodes they used weren't available anymore so I replaced them with the closest available part I found.

So they first questions:
  • Is my schematic correct? (I mainly asking this for the E-Paper part but of course I'm happy with any kind of feedback I can get)
  • What is the inductor for? (I think it is used for blocking noise from the supply rail but I don't really know)