Author Topic: Surge supression for phase to neutral shorts  (Read 1128 times)

Offline ThermoelectricTopic starter

• Contributor
Surge supression for phase to neutral shorts
« on: December 09, 2022, 11:02:07 am »
Hey,

Run into an interesting problem at work. I'm an electrician and we have these cranes which move pretty fast, powered by brushes running on bus bar. Multiple circuits in the bus bar, a 240v safety circuit energising some relays, a 415v control circuit and 415v 3 phase power for the drive motors.

As these bus bars wear, we get copper strands that bridge out the brushes. Usually this just trips the breaker and clears the fault, however a short between phase and neutral blows up the 230v relay coils. In my mind the relatively high impedance of the bus bar turns it into a voltage divider during the fault event, likely pulling neutral up to 100+VAC until the circuit breakers trip.

I've been looking into it, essentially I need to keep neutral close to earth potential to stop this voltage rise on the relays, or put surge suppression across the relay coils. These Finder relays already have the small MOV based surge suppressor but it is mainly designed to reduce transients from the coil being switched, and these blow up as well. I believe these also cause a cascading failure which takes out the second relay in some cases.

My intent is to install something to stop the relays blowing up and requiring semi-frequent replacement. My first thought was a single phase surge arrestor e.g. a HAGER SPB140D across each relay. Clamps at >285V and limits the voltage the relay coil experiences. Alternatively a low voltage transient barrier such as a Critec UTB-30 between neutral and earth to limit rise to no more than 30v.