Author Topic: toslink (s/pdif) mixer  (Read 8630 times)

Offline duckTopic starter

toslink (s/pdif) mixer
« on: July 13, 2018, 07:31:03 pm »
Hi! I have an (apparently) unique problem where I would like to mix togheter three optical audio signals (s/pdif over toslink connector) in that such a device is not made by anyone. The closest thing I've seen is the Roland M-1000 which is a multi-thousand dollar device, discontinued and rare as hen's teeth. What I DON'T want is a switch (even if it's automatic).

Now it seems to me that this should be a fairly simple thing to put together if you target the lowest spec of s/pdif (48kHz stereo sound), using toslink optical decoders and a DSP to mix them into a single optical encoder, but I have zero knowledge of how to put a circuit together. I know that s/pdif signals cannot be mixed without decoding because of some clock property, but if you first decode them into a PCM stream it should be no problem?

So my question is, does this seem like a thing that could be done to you? Would someone be interested in helping me design it? Volume control or anything like dolby decoding is not necessary (but would be a nice bonus).

duck

Offline In Vacuo Veritas

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
  • I like vacuum tubes. Electrons exist, holes don't.
Re: toslink (s/pdif) mixer
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2018, 07:41:41 pm »
It could be done, but it's 2018, why are you still using this stuff?

Ask yourself *why* it's a unique problem, anyone with the problem probably moved to something better decades ago.

Just buy three of these and call it a day.

https://www.amazon.com/Digital-Optical-Coaxial-Toslink-Converter/dp/B01FJJXGZW

Offline sokoloff

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2018, 07:49:14 pm »
Three of those doesn't do what OP is asking about without adding an analog mixer (and, depending on the use case, another stereo A/D convertor).

Offline dmills

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2018, 07:58:57 pm »