Author Topic: Ultra Fast rotational Speed meaurement  (Read 569 times)

Offline deltabravo460@gmail.comTopic starter

Ultra Fast rotational Speed meaurement
« on: March 10, 2024, 04:26:12 pm »
Hello, I am new to this form and seeking help designing a Tachometer to measure the rotational speed of a turbine, Max speed 450K RPM, I am thinking stroboscope is the way to go. My first thoughts are to use my wave generator (Leader LFG-1310) to drive an LED via an interface circuit. Any thoughts or suggestion?

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Ultra Fast rotational Speed meaurement
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2024, 07:30:05 pm »
450k rpm is just 7.5 kHz.
Piece of cake.
Paint 180 degrees of the output shaft black and use a reflective optodetector.
Or mill two slots in the shaft and use an inductive pickup.
Or...

Offline PCB.Wiz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2024, 07:36:28 pm »
This is likely to be small, a possible reflective opto sensor is  NJL5912R at Digikey.  1.06 x 1.46 x 0.5mm

Offline mjkuwp

• Supporter
  • mechanical engineering defector
    • The Mz Lab
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2024, 10:03:32 pm »
Optical interrupt sensor.  use a rotor with a rotor that only blocks the LED for 1/2 the rotation angle.  These sensors have an LED on one side and a phototransistor on the other.  I don't know exactly if it can do that speed but i would guess so.  You just need to look at the specs. of such parts

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2024, 10:42:07 pm »
use a rotor with a rotor that only blocks the LED for 1/2 the rotation angle.

... and try balancing that mechanically/dynamically.

I think the black coloring is easier.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2024, 10:46:12 pm »
This is likely to be small, a possible reflective opto sensor is  NJL5912R at Digikey.  1.06 x 1.46 x 0.5mm