Author Topic: USB Hub Flexible Up/downstream and Power Delivery  (Read 889 times)

Offline ejlaneTopic starter

USB Hub Flexible Up/downstream and Power Delivery
« on: April 08, 2021, 11:44:19 pm »
I'm pretty new to USB overall. I've done some small simple power designs, but nothing too involved. In spite of that, I'm being requested to put together a design and I'm struggling a bit with figuring out how to make everything work. I'm sure that there's a solution, but my overall lack of experience is hampering me. I'm not sure if I even know quite what to ask for!

The overall design is an add-on to a phone, basically. I can't give details, but I don't think that is needed. (At least I hope not.) The phone connects to a USB hub chip (I'm currently thinking the Microchip USB7002) and provides power to the device (this is relatively low - I haven't specced it all out, but something like 100-200mA at 5V at most.)

The hub is also doing some bridging between SPI and UART devices onto the USB talking to an app on the phone. However, I also need the hub device to be able to plug into a computer for data up/download over to the phone, while also charging the phone. Then if it's plugged into a dedicated charger it should have quick-charge capability.

Now onto what seems to be my problem. (I'm also going to try Microchip's forums, but I'm still waiting on admin approval of my account before I can do that.) I think because the chip only supports power delivery/battery charging on its downstream ports that I need to have one of them be the phone. But the computer will not be plugged in the majority of the time, so this would leave port 0 disconnected. I don't know if this is a valid use for the chip.