Author Topic: Voltage-controlled resistor for potentiostat?  (Read 720 times)

Offline bartdTopic starter

Voltage-controlled resistor for potentiostat?
« on: June 24, 2022, 11:24:38 am »
Hi all,

First post. I'm a hobbyist and teaching myself so please go easy on me.

We use potentiostats at work and the need has arisen for a current booster. Having successfully built a number of other electronic devices for work over the years I thought I'd give it a go myself.

The potentiostat in question cuts out at about 30 mA, the booster should be able to boost that 100x, i.e. up to about 3 A.

Its operation should be as follows, with reference to the figure below. The potentiostat puts out a voltage between out_1 and out_2. This voltage is copied exactly but "oomph" is added (buffer). The "copied" voltage is put across the sample which draws current (I_out, up to +/- 3 A). This current is measured, scaled down 100x (up to +/- 30 mA), and coded as a voltage (V_ctrl, 20 mV/mA). V_ctrl then drives the current scaler/mirror which makes the scaled-down current flow between the potentiostat electrodes.

What I know about the potentiostat: its output (between out_1 and out_2) is max +/- 10 V, each of out_1 and out_1 is max +/- 10 V from ground, and we only use it at very low frequencies (mostly fractions of a Hz) with triangle ramps. Unfortunately I don't know whether one of out_1 or out_2 is always at ground or not. It probably is, and a quick measurement confirmed that, but I cannot assume that this will always be the case for all experiments that the potentiostat is capable of, so I'm designing for a floating output (e.g. 10 V between out_1 and out_2 could be -5 V and +5 V with respect to ground).

I've got the voltage buffer part (referencing to ground, class-AB-type amplifier stage with feedback, current limiting etc).

I'm working on the current scaler/mirror now.