Author Topic: VProbe - a wireless oscilloscope probe  (Read 1086 times)

Offline victor_passeTopic starter

VProbe - a wireless oscilloscope probe
« on: July 02, 2022, 10:42:25 am »
Hi, I am a new user but long time electronics developer, both by profession and by hobby.

My latest project is a wireless oscilloscope probe, I have been wondering why nobody has built such an device before as, at least for me, it seems like a verry useful product as my desk is often cluttered with cables and often measure on 230V devices with different grounds as well as on moving robots or similar.
So I designed VProbe, a wireless oscilloscope probe. At its core it is a NRF52805 using the internal ADC@200ksps and the internal radio@2Mbit.
The receiver uses the same CPU and a R2R DAC where the lsb is a connected to a pwm to further increase the resolution without needing high precision resistors.

Here are some links to a demo video and some simple starting point for a datasheet and a technical description:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cdKEO9LvXWRO7VYsg2WQwgSty7Dx3twJ2ib7UQk9axc
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Fbvq9skYhKqmVh8e7Xj1D0pos_nm8Wk4GfTOS5zm7n0

Future features to be added:
Currently the probe can operate @ 8bit, 200ksps = 1600kbit/s or 12bit samples (16bit with ecc) @ 100ksps = 1600kbit/s or 1bit @ 1600ksps = 1600kbit/s, I am going to try to increase the useful throughput by increasing the package length (this will not increase latency) to 1800kbit/s to enable 9bit @200ksps, increase the sample rate @ 12bit and increase the digital to 1800ksps