Author Topic: Wien Bridge project  (Read 29274 times)

Offline richlookerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Re: Wien Bridge project
« Reply #100 on: April 20, 2021, 02:59:18 pm »
I don't remember your circuit (and I'm not very good at circuit design), but I can tell that for Wien-Bridge topology a THD depends much on an amplitude control circuit setting. From my experience, it may vary by 20-60 dB with a relatively small AGC change.

To my knowledge, the trick is to minimize the influence of the JFET, to minimize Vds, and to strive to reduce channel modulation by feeding half of the AC at drain back to gate.

The latter is accomplished by the voltage divider R9/R10 (R10 is connected to U2 output, which has a stable DC, so in signal terms it equals ground.)

I will try to replace R3 & R4 with 33k and 16k, respectively, which should reduce Vds by a factor 3, and also restrict the possible operating range of the JFET. Hopefully it will not be too restricted to allow oscillation across the entire frequency range.

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #101 on: April 20, 2021, 03:50:40 pm »
For measuring purposes it [ASIO] gives much lower noise and THD for my card. It's like 16 bit vs 24 bit (Windows MME vs ASIO).

Not trying to argue, just to learn if this difference can be measured indeed (and not just an audition placebo effect).

I always thought ASIO is about latency and Windows drivers only, so at least in theory it shouldn't make any difference in noise or THD.  (unless the non ASIO Windows drivers are in fact 16 bits only, and can not take advantage of the full range of a 24bits ADC).

Do you have any link, or measurement charts of ASIO vs non ASIO noise/THD, please?