Author Topic: Yet another DIY GPSDO - yes, another one  (Read 154469 times)

uflex and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online thinkfat

• Supporter
  • This is just a hobby I spend too much time on.
    • Matthias' Hackerstübchen
Re: Yet another DIY GPSDO - yes, another one
« Reply #775 on: May 09, 2022, 07:35:12 pm »
Hey Marko! I'm pretty new to designing electronics, that's why I trying to force this as much as possible to be a software project hah. But to your point, yeah essentially we end up in the middle of the last pulse... it seems to follow pretty consistently when it's +1, the next one will be -1 and vice versa (but sometimes not). I'm a visual learner so I'd have to see your idea in action.

I appreciate the feedback everyone.

Well, with this type of design, this is the best you can hope for. The control loop now needs to be tuned so that the time between the "bounces" is maximized, i.e. the drift of the OCXO against the GNSS is minimized.
Everybody likes gadgets. Until they try to make them.

Offline trrriple

« Reply #776 on: May 10, 2022, 02:31:12 am »
I'm curious what the effect or reporting the average of the last two sample counts to timeLab vs always reporting the previous sample count. Or is this cheating somehow?  :-//

Offline S57UUU

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #777 on: May 10, 2022, 01:32:58 pm »
Wouldn't any symmetrical distribution average out? A sawtooth is a quasi uniform distribution, should work?
I see more of a problem when the internal clock frequency passes an integer value in Hz, and the sawtooth slows down, even beyond measurement interval.

Another possibility would be to measure the time between two changes (in the same direction) of the captured value. The inverse value could then be used to do a FLL.  But sawtooth could make this a bit hard? Maybe one would be able to keep the pps in the middle of the 100ns window, so that so that a +-10ns sawtooth would not hit the edges (most of the time)?

Marko Cebokli

Offline Carsten