Author Topic: Yet another DIY GPSDO - yes, another one  (Read 155331 times)

Offline enut11

• Frequent Contributor
  • Love building/modifying/restoring test equipment
Re: Yet another DIY GPSDO - yes, another one
« Reply #950 on: January 24, 2024, 03:48:20 am »
@Johnny B Good. Thank you for your generous input. Your knowledge of OCXOs and GPS is way ahead of me. I am a novice here so am happy to take baby steps for the time being. That is why I was attracted to the apparent simplicity of @AndrewBNC's GPSDO. If I can get this to work, it may lead to other similar projects - who knows?
an electronics nut from wayback...

The following users thanked this post: Johnny B Good

Offline Johnny B Good

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #951 on: January 24, 2024, 04:34:42 pm »
@Johnny B Good. Thank you for your generous input. Your knowledge of OCXOs and GPS is way ahead of me. I am a novice here so am happy to take baby steps for the time being. That is why I was attracted to the apparent simplicity of @AndrewBNC's GPSDO. If I can get this to work, it may lead to other similar projects - who knows?

I was pretty much in that position about four and a half years back myself with regard to ocxos and gpsdos. You'd be surprised as to where even a vague fascination in "Electronics" (to give the subject its generic all encompassing label) will lead you to these days.

I started with a one valve (vacuum tube) radio kit based on the DK91 (90v HT and 1.5v heater) that had been donated/sold to my dad by one of his workmates (probably an unwanted gift) when I think I must have only been 11 or 12 years old way back in the early sixties. As to whether I managed to get it working is now lost in the mists of time. :(