Author Topic: Your thoughts on low temp solder heatshrink sleeve?  (Read 2883 times)

Offline KjeltTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Your thoughts on low temp solder heatshrink sleeve?
« on: May 13, 2021, 07:34:54 am »
I had to advise non electronic people how to correctly assemble two wires together.
Now these persons do not have a decent soldering iron or decent solder experience so soldering the wires together was not really an option.
The Wago 221 clamps are so so mechanically decoupled, rather not they are only electrically clamped, also not an option. Then I advised the 3M low voltage gel connectors or the crimp connectors iften used in cars.

Someone recommended these low temperature solder shrink connectors.
You strip the wires overlap the stripped area in the middle where some ring of low temperature solder is positioned. Then use a paintheatgun to solder and shrink the connection.
I have no experience with these.
My first thought was, not sure if the electrical connection is good enough.

Does anyone of you have experience with these and what are your thoughts ?

« Last Edit: May 13, 2021, 07:38:47 am by Kjelt »

Offline sleemanj

• Super Contributor
  • Professional tightwad.
    • The electronics hobby components I sell.
Re: Your thoughts on low temp solder heatshrink sleeve?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2021, 07:52:01 am »
~~~
EEVBlog Members - get yourself 10% discount off all my electronic components for sale just use the Buy Direct links and use Coupon Code "eevblog" during checkout.  Shipping from New Zealand, international orders welcome :-)

The following users thanked this post: Kjelt

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2021, 07:57:33 am »