Author Topic: Proteus Reviews Wanted  (Read 35086 times)

Offline Robaroni

• Frequent Contributor
  • Retired EE
    • Design Specialties
Re: Proteus Reviews Wanted
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2017, 04:05:57 pm »
I've been doing EDA for well over 20 years. Eagle was always cumbersome to me and now that Autocad has it I guess the price is getting uglier.
One of my favorites was the original Circuit Maker before Altium bought it. It's still on my computer somewhere in fact. I like the Protel format which CM was.

I've been using Proteus about 6 or 8 years now. It does make polished schematics my editors like and I find the simulator to be top notch. I don't look much at programs without simulators although I may have to at some point.

MY overall take is that the program is good for medium to slightly above medium complexity. It's getting better but I'm not in love with the manual routing and parts movement, it could be better. 3D is just OK, autorouting is not bad but could be better - it works well enough though.

There's a lot in the package. I like the ability to insert sch. blocks into new designs, panelization works but only with the new X2 Gerber and not 274x so you have to work around it. (board houses don't seem to be taking the X2 that I've found)

It's less buggy than some of the other programs I've used.

Over all it's a good program but it's not cheap to renew the license so I may look at something else in the future. For what I'm paying I might look into Altium but that's even more expensive. I could keep the simulator I've paid for (advanced sim) and run something else but learning another program is a pain.

The Gerbers are easy to generate and there are a lot of extensions I can send out files in. Also it has a lot included in the package and unlike Eagle you don't have to write ULPs to do what should be included in the program!