EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

EDA => Proteus => Topic started by: mcinque on December 28, 2013, 12:17:23 am

Title: Proteus VSM for Atmel and simulation: anyone use this?
Post by: mcinque on December 28, 2013, 12:17:23 am
I'm very interested in the simulation/debug functionality that this software offers, expecially for developing ATMEGA 328 projects.

I normally must first breadboard the hw and then upload the code, and you can imagine the awesome improvement if I could test all the project on my PC before prototyping it (even with the limitations that a simulation inlcude). I know this is a standard workflow for many, but I'm approaching to this only now :-//.

The software has an affordable price (the AVR version costs € 200,00 exl. VAT) but the demo version offers only one PIC to try this debug/simulation functionality, and I'd like to test it with my ATMEGA 328 sketches before buying it, so there is anyone that use this software?

Do you suggest me to buying it for my purposes?
Title: Re: Proteus VSM for Atmel and simulation: anyone use this?
Post by: digsys on December 28, 2013, 01:20:35 am
I've used Proteus since its beginning, and am completely happy with it. I've tried their auto-routers, auto-placers and even though they
worked fine, I always prefer manual placement/wiring. I've played with some of their other tools with similar results.
Even though I've never bothered with the simulation add-ons, I dare say they should be as good as you could possibly want.
Why not email them for a 30day trial?
Title: Re: Proteus VSM for Atmel and simulation: anyone use this?
Post by: dannyf on December 28, 2013, 02:29:04 am
It does a great job simulating most mcus - limitations are well documented.

I have used it in particular with 328p in the past, either with iar / gcc-avr, or with arduino compiled code. Worked flawlessly.
Title: Re: Proteus VSM for Atmel and simulation: anyone use this?
Post by: Bored@Work on December 28, 2013, 06:20:13 am
Actually, it is known for getting some MCU aspects wrong. Basically it is a SPICE with bolted-on digital functions. One thing I seem to remember they got wrong was program counter wrap-around. Maybe they have fixed it today.
Title: Re: Proteus VSM for Atmel and simulation: anyone use this?
Post by: mcinque on December 28, 2013, 10:20:12 am
Why not email them for a 30day trial?

 :-+ done!

I have used it in particular with 328p in the past, either with iar / gcc-avr, or with arduino compiled code. Worked flawlessly.

Great.

Bored@Work, thanks for your clarification  :-+