Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 Next
Beginners / Re: 555 driver and Transformer questions
« Last post by DanMann on Today at 07:31:44 pm »
@Andy, I was unsure if high time and low time were the vertical or horizontal stage. By duty cycle I think I now understand.

@Zero999, the transformer is a typical laminated core with one primary winding and one secondary winding, no center tap. It was designed for use with a mechanical vibrator/oscillator that was supposed to operate at 180cps (Hz). Unfortunately these over time have gotten way off with them putting out voltage spikes and frequencies much higher up to 1.2KHz.
I am not understanding push pull, I am guessing single ended.

I am still learning how to use an oscilliscope and do not know all the terms or what what I am seeing actually means, so the following I will do my best of what I think I am seeing.

attached is the schematic (555 oscillator.jpg) of what I am building, sort of. I started with another configuration which would not work with the diodes, but the signal I am getting is showing a duty cycle of 97%. I believe this is due a possible skipped cycle, meaning the signal rises, sharp and quick drop followed by a slightly higher rise.
In changing the time base on the scope the duty and frequency changes, I suspect this is due to the trigger setting?

Attached are pictures. I am not seeing how to put them inline?
Beginners / Re: Convert US standard 115V to International 230V
« Last post by am1 on Today at 07:29:12 pm »
Hi all, yes, those are the only PSU used in the device. However, there are several breakers used as well (listed). Many are rated for more than the needed 220-240V, but would I need to replace them with double pole line-neutral breakers? System uses the following:

• Circuit Breaker 2P 20A 240VAC/60DC Blk Rckr      SCHURTER   Allied Electronics   4430.2196
    Circuit Breaker 1-P 4A 480Y/277VAC      ABB   SU201M-C4 
    Circuit Breaker 1-P 2A 480Y/277VAC      ABB   SU201M-C2