Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 Next
Programming / Re: Linux Dependency Black Hole
« Last post by ataradov on Today at 01:47:23 am »
I am asking questions about the increasing problem of dependencies.
You have not actually clarified what "problem of dependencies" you have in mind. I've been using Linux since 2002, and as the only OS since 2007, and in that time I only see things improving over time (discounting whatever Canonical is doing).

So, if you can provide specific examples, there may be something to discuss. Otherwise it is just way too abstract.
Programming / Re: Is ChatGPT any good at writing code?
« Last post by vk6zgo on Today at 01:46:46 am »
So, no, you won't get redundant. But you're likely to get frustrated as more and more people expect these LLMs to do your job, and then come back to you to help them get out of the mess they have put themselves in. Get prepared to this to get over the frustration (the "I told you" syndrome), and you'll be fine with probably no shortage of work to do for years to come.

That's no different to what I've experienced repeatedly since the 80s: "Your $10,000 quote is too high, we found a student who said he can do it for $500".

Two years pass ...

"Hi, the student's code never worked. Can you fix it?"

ChatGPT coding might save you some typing, but it's really very much like the messages we get here and on Reddit etc all the time about student assignments "My code doesn't work, what's wrong?"  Uhhh .. everything?

It's all about perceptions.
The MBA Boss knows nothing about technology & believes all the fairytales that come out of the media, so they really believe that Chat GPT  & the like can do all these things better than a human.
Metrology / Re: 5.5D vintage Systron Donner 7205 DMM with 0.5% FS error
« Last post by trobbins on Today at 01:44:49 am »