Author Topic: Allowable input to solar converter  (Read 1892 times)

Offline markfrenckenTopic starter

Allowable input to solar converter
« on: September 29, 2022, 10:31:04 am »
Hi, I'm new to this forum so I'll introduce myself and the issue I'm struggling with...

In the Netherlands, electricity is going to hit 1 Eu/kWh likely in the next couple of months for most people when renewing their contract.
I'm a chemical technology engineer with quite some interests and experience in mechatronics and would like to investigate the use of a diesel generator to shave off the peak loads (and use the waste energy to heat my house) to enable using a 'day ahead'electricity contract. Day ahead means you know the hour by hour prices of electricity and when 0.4 l/kWh is cheaper compared to the net, I want to cap my net energy usage by feeding in with the generator. I do have solar panels, but these typically do not produce during peak price hours and batteries are not yet economically feasible, hence the approach.

Now the question: the diesel generator can deliver 1 phase 230V @ 50 Hz, with a capacity of 6 kW.
I do not want to run it at max load, so I would like to connect 2 2kW SMA inverters (with galvanic isolation) to the rectified output of the generator. I'll take the conversion losses etc at face value for the enormeous simplicity of this approach at the net side (if the net drops, I will  not have power I understand but I also do not need complicated and convoluted switchover solutions etc. I might be looking into that direction when I invest in a battery solution).

Rectifying the gen output is one thing, and due to the galvanic isolated SMA's I can choose to feed in on different phases of the 3 pahse system without worrying about earthed neutrals etc.

The SMA converters I want to use also give me the option to select either MPPT tracking or constant voltage for input. This of course also helps a lot.