Author Topic: Diode to charge series batteries in parallel?  (Read 1144 times)

Offline WebserferTopic starter

Diode to charge series batteries in parallel?
« on: June 03, 2019, 03:40:04 pm »
Title says most. I have 3 12v lead acid cells that are hooked up in series on an old server UPS. I also have an old 18w? solar panel.

Would hooking that up to a cheap standard ebay voltage regulator work as a solar regulator? And if I used diodes to prevent shorting out the batteries could I run/charge all of the batteries off the one regulator?

I cant see why the diode wouldn't work for parallel charging but I'm not good at this and don't wanna miss anything.
The voltage regulator as a solar controller is one that's got me in if it'll work or not though.

Appreciate the help!

Offline f4eru

• Super Contributor
    • Chargehanger
Re: Diode to charge series batteries in parallel?
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 04:09:36 pm »
hooking that up to a cheap standard ebay voltage regulator work
Please provide a schematic, so we understand your configuration better, You can use a scanned DaveCAD, or online schematic tools.

also, please provide a link to this "cheap standard ebay voltage regulator", because there are many "standards", https://xkcd.com/927/

Offline WebserferTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 05:00:47 pm »
Ah sorry, my bad. I meant one of these buck? regulators

Slightly embarrassing, I don't know how to do cad yet. Don't know the icons ect. Here's the best I could get with paint, horrendous I know.

If their were no diodes the connection to the regulator would just short out the batteries, would the diodes there prevent that or is their something I'm missing?

Thanks!

Offline f4eru

• Super Contributor
    • Chargehanger
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 11:55:13 pm »
That cannot work:
1) you short plus and minus of the regulator through the series connection of the batteries. it's either series or paralell, not both.