Author Topic: Power System Engineer Career  (Read 2746 times)

Offline zeke.Topic starter

• Contributor
Power System Engineer Career
« on: December 03, 2021, 02:17:34 am »
I'm looking from some insight from some fellow electrical engineers.

I currently work in the defense contractor industry as an controls engineer. I work on some cool stuff pertaining to electric drives, but I'm looking into working for the utilities sector next. Power transmission, distribution and generation sounds interesting to me. A dream of mine is to eventually own some property and build my own PV system to go off the grid. I want to stay on the side of EE that involves interesting math, like inverter switching topologies(Sinewave PWM, Third harmonic injection, SVM...etc), stuff like this is really cool!

Is there technical work at utilities companies? If not, then whose doing the technical work in the power sector?
How competitive is the market to get a job at a utilities company?

Offline mag_therm

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Power System Engineer Career
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2021, 05:00:29 pm »
I knew a few who are in utilities or in the consultancies that service them.
Some  are PE Electrical, and work more as systems engineers, although one is a PhD and PE working in deep calculations for transmission.

I suggest you subscribe to the magazine "Pac-World". It is free to engineers and is weighted toward the technical side.
also articles and papers from the utility equipment vendors.
www.pacw.org

The following users thanked this post: zeke.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2021, 03:33:50 pm »
Awesome thank you!

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2021, 08:45:50 pm »
If not, then whose doing the technical work in the power sector?