Author Topic: Solar panels with different light intensity, how to connect / what controller  (Read 1730 times)

Offline TinkeringSteveTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
I'm a total noob to this stuff.

Just want to play with solar panels, say 50..100W, like 1m x 0.5m monocrystalline, two of them, positioned in excess window area (indoors) in two different rooms (I can't put them on the roof, I don't own the thing, this is basically an experiment of what's possible from where I am).
It's 2 to catch the sun when it goes around a corner. So I guess that's a less economical way of "tracking" ;)

But when I have such a MPPT controller with a lead gel battery connected as a buffer, it won't like having two panels e.g. in series with two strongly different amounts of light hitting them.

How would one actually do this to get some semblance of efficiency? (in the confines of this suboptimal physical setup)

Offline Faringdon

• Super Contributor
  • !
I dont think MPPT will care about the two panels with different light on each.

The software of the MPPT.....it ups the reference on the converter, and keeps doing so till the input power starts to go down........then it backs off....and keeps re-iterating so it stays on max power point.
'Perfection' is the enemy of 'perfectly satisfactory'

Offline fourfathom

• Super Contributor
I dont think MPPT will care about the two panels with different light on each.

If the panels are in series, the MPPT controller may not "care about" the differing illumination on the panels, but it's hardly going to give you the maximum available power.  A solar panel is much like a constant-current source (with a voltage limit), and that current depends on the level of illumination.  With two panels in series, the total current will be limited to that delivered by the shaded panel, and most of the potential power of the unshaded panel will be wasted.