Author Topic: Spinning solar cells generate 20 times more electricity ...  (Read 10211 times)

Offline Bassman59Topic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
A bunch of my non-techie friends have posted this link on Facebook yesterday ... my response has been, "oh, my, more surface area of course means more generation in that footprint."

NB it's one of those idiot "futurist design" websites, with zero technical competency.

Offline German_EE

• Super Contributor
Re: Spinning solar cells generate 20 times more electricity ...
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2015, 09:34:14 am »
This idea is not as crazy as it looks. They are using an array of solar cells with lenses in front of each device, then rotating them so that the sun does not stay on one cell too long. Think of it as solar multiplexing.

Does anybody have figures concerning the lifetime of solar panels when they overheat?
Should you find yourself in a chronically leaking boat, energy devoted to changing vessels is likely to be more productive than energy devoted to patching leaks.

Warren Buffett

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2015, 09:54:37 am »
Reminds me of the TV show "Earth 2"  they had spinning solar cells powering vehicles
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2015, 09:57:24 am »
This idea is not as crazy as it looks. They are using an array of solar cells with lenses in front of each device, then rotating them so that the sun does not stay on one cell too long. Think of it as solar multiplexing.

Does anybody have figures concerning the lifetime of solar panels when they overheat?