Author Topic: UK Heat Pump/Exchanger Heating.  (Read 7524 times)

Offline paulcaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
UK Heat Pump/Exchanger Heating.
« on: March 14, 2019, 08:52:15 am »
So this has happened (I know not technically 'renewable'):
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-47559920

So, please be gentle as I'm only learning about this stuff.  The stuff I have read suggests these are NOT a good replacement for gas as the cost savings are actually negative for natural gas heating systems and cost more to run.  Of course the primary aim of this is to appear to be "lower carbon", however ... in the UK our electricity is mostly generated from coal.  So while the domestic home's direct carbon foot print might lower the overall carbon footprint may well rise due to grid/transmission loses etc.

On the heating systems.  I would guess my gas boiler system produces something like 12kW of heat into the water.  This can either be used to produce hot running water out of the tap at 80*C or water circulating the radiators are 90*C.  This means that to have a shower I need to run the boiler for about 5 minutes while I am in the shower.   With a heat exchanger system, which is incapable, to my understanding of producing water at anything like that temperature I would need an immersion heater which would typically be 7kW and need to be left on for an hour or longer to produce enough water so the water does not run cold in the shower.  So less efficient in real practical terms by a factor of 2 or more.