Author Topic: Usage of polarised capacitor in parallel with non-paralised capacitor  (Read 1013 times)

Offline insanoffTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi there,
I am studying the user manual of an evaluation board for a charging circuit. Link to the manual is below.
One design consideration caught my eye. I would like to know what the purpose of polarised 2.2uF capacitor (C204) is when there is already a 4.7uF capacitor (C203).
Many thanks in advance!

https://www.st.com/resource/en/user_manual/um2940-getting-started-with-the-stdes7kwobc-7-kw-onboard-charger-reference-design-stmicroelectronics.pdf

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Usage of polarised capacitor in parallel with non-paralised capacitor
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2022, 08:42:30 pm »
Compare the ESRs, and model the equivalent parallel impedance. :-+

Also, it's not obvious where they've placed all those capacitors, but it's generally a bad idea to put multiple different values in parallel right beside each other.  If they're spread around doing local bypass, that may be okay, but that might not be necessarily either.

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline TimFox

• Super Contributor
  • Retired, now restoring antique test equipment
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2022, 09:41:18 pm »
In grad school, we had undergraduate students as cheap, yet clever, technicians.
I once hand drew a circuit (for a onesie) with analog and CMOS devices on the same Vectorboard, with +15 V and -15 V supplies.
To make the drawing less messy, I put a rectangle for each IC into the lower left-hand corner of the drawing, showing the power and ground connections, with appropriate bypass capacitors on each socket.
Actually, IIRC the drawing was explicit, showing the capacitor directly at the pins and wires from there to the power lines and ground symbol.