Author Topic: [Pictures] BURNT mosfet - Weelye Bluetooth Remote Control and Receiver  (Read 2015 times)

Offline ileacristianTopic starter

Hi!

I want to repair a broken remote control and receiver board for a toy car for kids (Weelye).
Upon inspection I found that the mosfet got burned (someone powered it with higher voltage I think).

Here are some pictures:

After some scavanging online, I found that the piece might be a 150N03.
I found this one a polish forum using google translate (https://www.elektroda.pl/rtvforum/topic3237823.html).

Someone there suggested that a IRF3305PBF would be an equivalent replacement.
Apart from aliexpress I have not found any places where these parts are sold.

Can someone guide me to find something that might be equivalent? I would also be interested in learning what are the characteristics that make 2 parts like these quivalent. I don't just wanna fix it and learn nothing. I'm a newbie btw.

If anyone is interested in the aliexpress parts I mentioned, here are the links:

Thanks!

Offline D Straney

• Regular Contributor
When I look for drop-in replacements for MOSFETs, I aim for:
* Same package (TO-220)
* Same pinout (usually same package = same pinout, but there are occasional surprises...worth double-checking just to be sure)
* Same or higher maximum Vds (>= 30V in this case)
* Same or higher maximum Vgs (>= +/- 20V here, luckily this is pretty standard)
* Similar Vgs(th) turn-on thresholds: 1-3V range for 150N03 vs. 2-4V range for IRF3305 seems pretty reasonable - as long as you don't use one with a 5-7V range to replace one with a 1-3V range.