Author Topic: 34401a range issue  (Read 7482 times)

Offline dohyunTopic starter

• Contributor
Re: 34401a range issue
« Reply #25 on: July 02, 2016, 12:01:41 am »
I was contemplating that (waiting) but I was also figuring that if they cal my meter and then the standard goes off to be cal'd then I would find out reasonably soon that the cal job they did on mine was in spec (as the end point of the two time points of calibration)

Though I am new to the precision and calibration world so I could be totally off base :)

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: July 02, 2016, 09:44:25 am »
The freshly checked cal instruments can be slightly better than just before the end of calibration cycle. So calibration just after the check might be slightly more accurate. However for the 34401 the calibration instrument should be really much better than the meter. So this should not matter that much. Even at the end of the cycle there instrument should be way better than the 34401. The weak point there is more the disturbance / drift of the 34401 due to shipping and warmup time. It would be a different if you send in an 8 digit meter, where the quality of the reference could be an factor.

Having the calibration just at the beginning also has some downsides: there instrument may still recover from shipping disturbance and they may be in a hurry because of a backlog of waiting instruments.

If at the end they find out there instrument was way off (which is very unlikely), they should in principle give you a note and maybe offer corrections (new calibration). So you have timely check for the unlikely case that there instruments where out of spec.

The following users thanked this post: bitseeker, dohyun

• Contributor
« Reply #27 on: July 12, 2016, 04:55:02 pm »
I heard back from the cal lab. Sounds like initially the zero offset was out of tolerance on both the front and rear terminals as well as DCI.

They made adjustments and re-ran the tests this time passing.