Author Topic: 7L12 - No trace/readout  (Read 937 times)

Offline TaeloniousTopic starter

• Contributor
7L12 - No trace/readout
« on: May 13, 2020, 07:28:41 am »
Howdy,

I stumbled upon this spectrum analyzer along with a 7603 mainframe. Sadly, it shows no trace or readout at all.

Other plugins work in the 7603.

Absolutely no background on it (supposedly from an estate sale).

Followed the manual for operation and had no luck.

Looks happy and clean from what I can tell. Lights up and doesn't smoke. Brief look at the boards show no signs of explosion or anything else anomalous (I didn't look too deep though).

The frequency span knob does look like it took a whack, as the pull out bit is slightly bent.

I'm only a lowly EE student and have no experience with such a repair, but thought it would be fun to try. Any help/advice is greatly appreciated!

Offline wn1fju

• Frequent Contributor
Re: 7L12 - No trace/readout
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 12:01:54 pm »
I wish I had better news for you, but you have stumbled across one of the most complex and densely packed 7000-series plug-ins Tektronix ever produced.  I have the 7L13 which is even worse (it is three bays wide) and it was not easy to work on.

It would be nice if you had a set of extender cables so you could work on the thing outside of the scope chassis.  Otherwise, you need to pull of both side panels
of the 7603 (and the 7L12) and work your way through to the left and right sides of the 7L12.

There are a couple of power supplies inside the 7L12, so check the voltages first.  I would also be suspicious of mechanical damage as you have indicated with the