Author Topic: Advantest R3463 trouble (solved)  (Read 4592 times)

Offline Maurizio1957Topic starter

• Contributor
Advantest R3463 trouble (solved)
« on: October 14, 2022, 02:34:19 pm »
Hi all, what do you think about a R3463 spectrum analyzer that does not start until 24 - 48 hours have passed since the last start? (excluding 'when it starts do not turn it off' :-DD ) It loads the files but the screen remains stuck on the Advantest logo...
Cheers Maurizio
« Last Edit: March 23, 2023, 07:41:31 am by Maurizio1957 »

• Contributor
Re: Advantest R3463 trouble
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2022, 08:13:43 am »
  Preface: i'm not an electronic professional, i'm just a hobbyist .
A year ago an electronic engineer friend of mine gave me a lot of non-working equipment,
telling me "repairs too expensive, use them to make parts ..." including: HP 8753C (zero signal output
and keyboard not working: repaired with new YIG oscillator and keyboard rebuild) and Advantest R3463 (" don't start").
I have checked the voltages of the power supply and they are ok; I have opened all the boards and there is no visible damage;
before replacing all SMD electrolytic capacitors i took one apart and tested with ESR meter, and it looks good ...
it starts every now and then only when it has been turned off for 1 - 2 days, and then it seems to work ...
is there anyone who has had similar experiences?
Tnx, Maurizio

Offline rainbow

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2022, 06:23:36 am »
A very lucky guy to get an HP 8753C for free ;-)

First step, get the documentation:
- for the R3463 there is only the Operation Manual https://xdevs.com/doc/Advantest/R3265A/ADV%20R3463%2C%20R3465%20Series%20Operation.pdf
- but many circuits/boards are the same of the R3265 which have the fully service manual. Get it at https://xdevs.com/doc/Advantest/R3265A/

Second step, fix the power-on intermittent issue: