EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => Repair => Topic started by: plesa on August 31, 2016, 07:40:07 pm

Title: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on August 31, 2016, 07:40:07 pm
I purchased E5810A for $50. It seems to come from Motorola. Unit power up and RS232 interface is working properly.
But the GPIB is not available in LXI interface at all.
Firmware upgraded through ftp to the latest 1.10 without change.
Strange is that when other GPIB adapter is connected interface became available in LXI.
USB interface on this type was not supposed to work.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on November 30, 2016, 05:14:11 pm
Unit fixed. Removed both 74LVC244 IC, tested by vectors - OK. Replaced 75ALS160 and 75ALS162 and GPIB is working now :-+
Another unit which I received in meantime has error/fault during startup and it seems to have corrupted firmware.
Needs to check how to reprogram without GPIB interface but http://www.icselect.com/ (http://www.icselect.com/) is down, they should have some hint in their manuals.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on December 03, 2016, 07:27:38 pm
Few members requested internal pictures.
This seems to be one of the latest E5810A according to serial number. Noticeable difference is power resistor mounted to cover connected to internal switching power supply.
Power supply check seems to be OK ( 5V,3V3,2V5).
P602 is RS232 port, P101 is GPIB port.
Any tips what can be P701 or function of jumpers P703 or P601?
USB does not have VIP/PID so it is completely disabled.

Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: bingo600 on December 03, 2016, 10:10:56 pm
Few members requested internal pictures.

Any tips what can be P701 or function of jumpers P703 or P601?
USB does not have VIP/PID so it is completely disabled.

Thanx for the pics.  :-+

P701 ... PowerPC seems to have 16pin jtag

Atmel i2c chip on back could be for the Cypress USB


Wonder what the 2x4 and 2x2 pins are in the middle of the pcb topside ?
2 x 4 Xilinx Jtag ??

/Bingo

Maybe usefull
http://www.nxp.com/files/32bit/doc/app_note/AN1769.pdf (http://www.nxp.com/files/32bit/doc/app_note/AN1769.pdf)

http://elinux.org/images/e/ea/JTAGpinouts.pdf (http://elinux.org/images/e/ea/JTAGpinouts.pdf)

http://www.denx.de/wiki/publish/DULG/DULG-tqm8xxl.html (http://www.denx.de/wiki/publish/DULG/DULG-tqm8xxl.html)
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on December 29, 2016, 04:58:45 pm
Hi Plesa,

Did you need to do anything special to get the firmware upgraded? I have one that has A.01.03 so I needed to setup an internal FTP server to do the upgrade.

I've tried under Windows and Ubuntu and in both cases I get a status message of:

(0:12:57:33) Firmware update: Looking for FTP server
(0:12:57:33) Firmware update: Beginning firmware update
(0:12:57:33) ERROR: Firmware Update: Invalid file or directory

I tried all the different files on the Keysight site - Nothing seems to work for the update.

Any tips on this?

Thanks,

TonyG

Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on December 29, 2016, 05:29:40 pm
Hi Plesa,

Did you need to do anything special to get the firmware upgraded? I have one that has A.01.03 so I needed to setup an internal FTP server to do the upgrade.

I've tried under Windows and Ubuntu and in both cases I get a status message of:

(0:12:57:33) Firmware update: Looking for FTP server
(0:12:57:33) Firmware update: Beginning firmware update
(0:12:57:33) ERROR: Firmware Update: Invalid file or directory

I tried all the different files on the Keysight site - Nothing seems to work for the update.

Any tips on this?

Thanks,

TonyG

It is pretty easy. Keysight changed FTP structure.
Just replace on following page
http://Your_E5810_IP_Address/html/passwordupdate.html (http://Your_E5810_IP_Address/html/passwordupdate.html)

ftp.agilent.com by ftp://ftp.keysight.com (http://ftp://ftp.keysight.com)

and from folder name delete pub folder.
So there must be
/e5810/e5810_latest_firmware.hex
instead of
/pub/e5810/e5810_latest_firmware.hex
     



Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on December 29, 2016, 06:37:32 pm
Thanks for getting back to me Plesa,

I tried that and I'm still getting:

(0:15:12:05) Firmware update: Looking for FTP server
(0:15:12:06) Firmware update: Beginning firmware update
(0:15:12:06) ERROR: Firmware Update: Invalid file or directory

Keysight specifically said that you'd need to use an internal FTP server if you had firmware prior to 1.07 so there has to be some FTP setting or something (while it's not beyond belief that they'd make you go through the process of setting up a private server instead of simply documenting the address/folder changes it does seem like an indicator).

Any thoughts?

TonyG
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on December 29, 2016, 06:48:19 pm
I tried resetting the unit to factory defaults again and then tried the update - Worked fine now.

Thanks again for your help.

It must have been some configuration option that I'd set that caused the issue.

TonyG
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on December 29, 2016, 07:39:15 pm
Interesting, congratulation.
If you needs some examples how to use it in python automation check this thread
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/raspberry-pi23-logging-platform-for-voltnuts/ (https://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/raspberry-pi23-logging-platform-for-voltnuts/)
or on GitHub check Alex website
Check http://alexforencich.com/wiki/en/python-vxi11/readme (http://alexforencich.com/wiki/en/python-vxi11/readme)

The most useful function is webpage for sending commands manually.
It is easy to use across multiple platforms and instruments are available from all machines on ethernet.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on March 23, 2017, 06:13:01 pm
Another E5810A which is not working needs to be repaired.
Searching any debug output on P701 was not sucessfull. But debug output is on RS232 interface  :palm: speed 9600 :)

Code: [Select]

                            VxWorks System Boot


Copyright 1984-1998  Wind River Systems, Inc.





CPU: Agilent Technologies P1000, 405GP Rev. E
Version: 5.4.2
BSP version: 1.6/0
Creation date: Mar 15 2002, 14:16:48




Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 7
 6
 5
 4
 3
 2
 1
 0

auto-booting...


boot device          : em??
unit number          : 0
processor number     : 0
host name            : agmbest06
file name            : E5810_mt_01_09
inet on ethernet (e) : 192.168.1.101
host inet (h)        : 192.168.1.100
gateway inet (g)     : 192.168.1.1
user (u)             : boot
ftp password (pw)    : boot
flags (f)            : 0x0
target name (tn)     : jetscreamer

Can not load boot file!!

Boot mode: 0x00000100
Processor version: 0x40110145
Enabling instruction cache
Setting ROM speed
Testing on chip RAM
Board Config Reg:  0xC535
Configuring LAN hardware
Enabling 25Mhz Timer Clock
Processor clock frequency: 0x0BCD3800
Agilent Technologies P1000
Micro Boot version A.02.02
Built Sep 30 2002, 16:15:49
Chip Strapping Reg:  0x6AB28800
GPIO Input Reg:  0x7B7FBF00
Not PCI Monarch
SDRAM Size:  0x04000000
Testing SDRAM access
Enabling data cache
Testing SDRAM
Testing LAN hardware
Testing the MII interface
Testing USB
USB RevID: 0x11
Searching for boot code
Boot from 0xFFFB0000  ()? y/n

when pressing n dialog ask for
Code: [Select]
Searching for boot code
Boot from 0xFFFB0000  ()? y/n
Boot from 0xFFF00000  (P1000 vxWorks)? y/n
Boot from 0xFFA00000  (A.01.09 )? y/n
Boot from 0xFF800000  (A.01.09 )? y/n

after that units seems to boot correctly, LCD is working but it is unable to obtain DHCP address
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on March 23, 2017, 09:55:31 pm
Keysight decided to remove firmware from FTP, so update of firmware is no longer working.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on March 23, 2017, 10:47:26 pm
When looking for other stuff I've found it to be there, be gone and then be there. I think they don't have the most reliable server array so maybe it'll come back soon.

If you know what the file name is then I may still have a copy of it somewhere.

TonyG
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on March 23, 2017, 10:48:56 pm
When looking for other stuff I've found it to be there, be gone and then be there. I think they don't have the most reliable server array so maybe it'll come back soon.

If you know what the file name is then I may still have a copy of it somewhere.

TonyG
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: kaz911 on March 23, 2017, 11:08:23 pm
hmm 14/3 they cleaned up.. :(

If anyone needs it I have the latest firmware for the E5810
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: kaz911 on March 23, 2017, 11:10:59 pm
hmm 14/3 they cleaned up.. :(

If anyone needs it I have the latest firmware for the E5810
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on March 24, 2017, 07:25:05 am
When looking for other stuff I've found it to be there, be gone and then be there. I think they don't have the most reliable server array so maybe it'll come back soon.

If you know what the file name is then I may still have a copy of it somewhere.

TonyG

Thank.

I needs version 1.09 , the latest one I have.
To prove that during the bootup with firmware 1.09 the debug output was on RS232 interface, which can corrupt the boot settings.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: kaz911 on March 24, 2017, 07:48:25 am
When looking for other stuff I've found it to be there, be gone and then be there. I think they don't have the most reliable server array so maybe it'll come back soon.

If you know what the file name is then I may still have a copy of it somewhere.

TonyG

Thank.

I needs version 1.09 , the latest one I have.
To prove that during the bootup with firmware 1.09 the debug output was on RS232 interface, which can corrupt the boot settings.


I only have V1.10. I might be able to put it on my ftp server for EEVBlog users
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on March 24, 2017, 07:59:13 am
When looking for other stuff I've found it to be there, be gone and then be there. I think they don't have the most reliable server array so maybe it'll come back soon.

If you know what the file name is then I may still have a copy of it somewhere.

TonyG

Thank.

I needs version 1.09 , the latest one I have.
To prove that during the bootup with firmware 1.09 the debug output was on RS232 interface, which can corrupt the boot settings.


I only have V1.10. I might be able to put it on my ftp server for EEVBlog users

OK. Maybe put it to TiN ftp and post the path and other modification for other to perform FTP firmware upgrade from ftp (http://Your_gatewayIP_address/html/update_firmware.html (http://Your_gatewayIP_address/html/update_firmware.html)
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: kaz911 on March 24, 2017, 08:29:44 am
I have put up the firmware on my ftp server

Firmware FTP Server Hostname: ftp.uclip.com
user: eevblog
pass: eev!blog!2017
filename: /e5810_v110.hex

works perfect - even with older 1.03 and up (where Keysight did not like anything < 1.06)
Quote
Why am I not able to update my E5810A firmware via Keysight FTP at ftp://ftp.keysight.com/pub/e5810/?
The E5810A with firmware revision A.01.06 and below are not able to be update via Keysight FTP. This has been fixed on firmware revision A.01.07 and above. To update the E5810A with current firmware A.01.06 and below to the latest version of the firmware you must use a local ‘ftp’ server. If you wish to update the E5810A with current firmware A.01.07 and above you can use the Keysight ‘ftp’ server. Please see the E5810A online Help for more information on using either ‘ftp’ server method.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Samogon on July 07, 2017, 04:10:17 am
Thank you for sharing FW and repair notes.
I have unit which seams to hang on getting DHCP server indefinitely. Reset button does not work. I assume it is FW corruption.
I wonder if it is possible to update FW other than via FTP?
I probably going to remove NVRAM and write FW which i have downloaded from kaz911 ftp.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on July 07, 2017, 08:27:21 am
Thank you for sharing FW and repair notes.
I have unit which seams to hang on getting DHCP server indefinitely. Reset button does not work. I assume it is FW corruption.
I wonder if it is possible to update FW other than via FTP?
I probably going to remove NVRAM and write FW which i have downloaded from kaz911 ftp.

Did you tried to connect to RS232 and in console select the backup firmware?
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Samogon on July 07, 2017, 01:19:07 pm
My serial cable is male and just ordered gender changer.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: alm on July 07, 2017, 04:24:49 pm
A gender changer may not be enough. If the connector is male, then you may well need a null modem cable with RX and TX reversed.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on July 07, 2017, 05:58:48 pm
A gender changer may not be enough. If the connector is male, then you may well need a null modem cable with RX and TX reversed.

Yes, you needs null modem or cross the wires.
On this interface is boot log where you can select to boot second image (for recovery probably?).
I have one board which first image does not boot ( no message on LCD) and when I try to boot second image it boot up correctly but is unable to lease IP.
Maybe it is similar to your problem.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Samogon on July 08, 2017, 02:33:33 am
Ordered null modem converter.
It appears that first boot image ok, but second hangs on getting ip settings even reset button doesnt work.
It works on first image because i was able to default on boot by holding it and turning power on
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Samogon on July 11, 2017, 07:42:06 pm
Ok null modem cable appears to be working i see RS232 led activity when type in the putty, but no response.
Nothing displayed in the terminal on boot time.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: TheSteve on August 23, 2017, 04:40:07 am
Picked up a "parts only" E5810A for $55.00 the other day. Sometimes it would boot fine, sometimes it would hang with the power and fault LED's on. I was able to update it to the newest firmware no problem. I opened it up and checked the power supply. It had 3.3 and 5 volts but had horrible ripple on both. I swapped all of the output capacitors on the power supply and the ripple is gone - it boots properly all the time now. The removed caps test just fine in terms of capacity and ESR and there was no sign of any leakage, yet they clearly had problems.

I did look for debug output on the serial port and never see anything - does it need to be enabled and does anyone know how to do that?

edit - just noticed there is a service note describing my exact issue - http://literature.cdn.keysight.com/litweb/pdf/E5810A-02.pdf (http://literature.cdn.keysight.com/litweb/pdf/E5810A-02.pdf)
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: HighVoltage on August 23, 2017, 06:38:00 am
edit - just noticed there is a service note describing my exact issue

How funny:
Service Solution/Action:
Return the defective E5810A to nearest service centre to have the unit exchanged.


You got lucky again with a simple repair, congratulations
Usually the ESR should show some increase in the old caps.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on August 23, 2017, 02:56:52 pm
Picked up a "parts only" E5810A for $55.00 the other day.

You'll have to let me know if you can have your E5810A on the bus and another device as the system controller - In my setup I can't print from my 8563E as it needs to take control of the bus to do that, or turn my 8714C into the system controller because my E5810A refuses to give up as the system controller. If I turn it off then everything works as expected.

TonyG
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: TheSteve on August 24, 2017, 05:26:38 am
I doubt mine will behave any differently. I have quite a few devices with GPIB but no scenarios I can think of where the device would need to be the system controller. Are you also trying to print with your 8714C? I grab screen shots from my 8714C via its built in web server.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: Tony_G on August 24, 2017, 06:05:32 am
Mostly the same here but now that I have some plotters, I'd like to get the grabbing of 'system controller' working...
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: plesa on August 26, 2017, 09:58:09 pm
I just tried on non faulty unit and there is no debug output.
Also there is difference between units.
The newer unit has power resistor mounted on chassis and connected between PSU and boards.

Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: TheSteve on August 27, 2017, 12:56:46 am
My unit is from 2008 I do believe, there is no power resistor mounted to the board. I guess debug output isn't super important as new caps fixed it but it would have been nice to try swapping between flash images etc.
Title: Re: Agilent E5810 repair
Post by: iouzzr on July 07, 2018, 12:29:48 pm
A gender changer may not be enough. If the connector is male, then you may well need a null modem cable with RX and TX reversed.

Yes, you needs null modem or cross the wires.
On this interface is boot log where you can select to boot second image (for recovery probably?).
I have one board which first image does not boot ( no message on LCD) and when I try to boot second image it boot up correctly but is unable to lease IP.
Maybe it is similar to your problem.

For me, the first image stuck at searching for DHCP server, trying to update from .02 to .10 does not fix.
Thanks for the second image idea, I do not use RS232 to choose it, I just unplug power during the firmware update, successfully rolled back to .01, which I think is the secondary backup image.
However, this still does not fix stuck at searching DHCP issue. I then tried my last attempt, update from .01 to .03, holy shit, the DCHP works!!!
Hopes this can help anyone who has the same issue like me.