Author Topic: Ancient Atari 800 repair  (Read 2113 times)

Offline spinnakerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Ancient Atari 800 repair
« on: April 10, 2019, 12:50:32 am »
I am looking at getting my  30+ year old Atari 800 up and running.    Still waiting on my video connectors but I am pretty certain I am getting composite video out an I get keyboard clack sounds out of the internal keyboard so I am reasonable certain the CPU is alive.

Filter caps don't appear to be leaking but one problem I noticed was the 5V is a little low.   I am  reading 4.9V.   Could bad caps be a cause of the low voltage?

Also how does the composite signal look?  Does it seem OK?   Been awhile since I worked in video.

« Last Edit: April 10, 2019, 12:53:41 am by spinnaker »

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Ancient Atari 800 repair
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 01:00:06 am »
Video signal looks OK and 4.9V is more than OK for a 5V supply

The following users thanked this post: spinnaker

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2019, 02:03:23 am »
Thanks.    What about those 30 year old electrolytics?    Replace now? Assuming the rest of the computer is working.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2019, 12:36:54 pm »
If you don't see any leaking or bulging capacitor, there is no need to change them.  I have several vintage 8-bit computers (Apple, TI 99/4a, commodore) and never replaced any capacitor.

Tantalum capacitors (yellow ones) can blow when they age, but you will hear a loud bang and see the burned one immediately.

The following users thanked this post: spinnaker

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2019, 10:35:24 pm »
Got my RF connector in today.  It's alive!

A little buzzing but as I recall that is normal with text,   Waiting on the 5 pin DIN, hopefully with even better results.

Offline CJay

• Super Contributor