Author Topic: Another HP 1741A repair  (Read 4504 times)

Offline ZammTopic starter

Another HP 1741A repair
« on: April 18, 2017, 12:39:04 am »
I'm new to electronics after having my interest piqued while being introduced to Arduinos and programming at large. Wanted to get deeper in the discrete components and build out some minimal skills to do diagnostics and testing. In line with that, I have slowly accumulated a few basic instruments, and had been keeping my eye out for a scope. As luck would have it, I saw one posted locally on Craigslist, and I went over to pick it up untested for $60. Luckily for me, it also included the hard copy service manual, which I have been fawning over as I admire the schematics.

Quick summary of the scope:
Good overall condition.  A little grimy on the outside and on the front panel, but inside is very clean. A review of the knobs and buttons reveal that all actuate well, except for the "line" (on/off). Luckily for me it is stuck in the ON position, so I am turning the scope on via the power cord.

First power on, I got a single point cycling across the screen. I probed the 1v cal and saw a good, flat square wave.

Then things got a little funky. I was waiting for one of the cheapo assemble it yourself signal generators to show up in the mail, so I didn't really have anything fun to do with the scope. But for the next couple of days I couldn't see anything on the screen. When I would turn up the beam intensity, the left side of the screen would start bleaching out green. Then I would press the beam find, I would suddenly see a dot on the left half of the screen. My gut was telling me I had an issue with my horizontal.