Author Topic: Anritsu ms2602a Display Unit repair  (Read 544 times)

Offline sergeyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Anritsu ms2602a Display Unit repair
« on: February 11, 2024, 11:04:58 am »
Hello everyone,

I have a Anritsu ms2602a spectrum analyser which has no picture on its CRT display. The exact symptom is that during the startup there is a single vertical line in the middle of the screen which fades in shortly after power-up, and fades-out after a second or two. It fades out by becoming less and less bright, while staying in-focus.

The unit was sold as working, and I do not have reasons to disbelieve that statement. But, surely, being an engineer I trust the actual measurements than assumptions. Is just something I have at the back of the head that maybe the issue is simpler, before going deep into rabbit holes. But it also could be that something physical broke in the tube itself.

Quite sure the issue is in the Display Unit itself, as there seems to be no anomalies at neither of the connectors leading to the module (it has two of them).

The DISP CPU board outputs proper VSYNC, HSYNC, and the monochrome signal (the 8-pin connector J2 on the A9 board). In fact, with some voltage level adjustment on the signal line I've managed to make picture appear on an external VGA monitor (which recognized it as 640x400 @ 56.4 Hz, 21 MHz pixel clock).

The COMMON BOARD has +12v. It seemed a bit noisy without a load, so I've checked PSU and none of the capacitors seemed bad. The 12v regulator itself worked correct (it is on its own little board, based on STR9012): putting 20v in gave clean 12v out. I don't have schematic of the PSU, and going upstream was a bit of a challenge. At that point I've also noticed that the +12v is pretty clean when the load is applied, so I've stopped perusing the PSU route. The connector I am talking about is the 5-pin J10 on the A11 board.

In the Display Unit there were two main things which made me pay attention: