Author Topic: Bauhn 65" 4K TV Power Supply - Blown Ceramic Disc Capacitor  (Read 2655 times)

Offline bdcTopic starter

Bauhn 65" 4K TV Power Supply - Blown Ceramic Disc Capacitor
« on: December 23, 2020, 02:43:26 pm »
Hi, I'm new to trying to repair electronics. Recently my TV had a loud pop and no longer powered on, I immediately saw the fuse was blown on the power supply and ordered some new ones. I replaced the fuse and it immediately blew the replacement fuse (can see the blown replacement circled in blue). I then noticed there was the blue circular object (circled in red) that had exploded, I'm not sure if this exploded after I replaced the fuse or if I just missed it the first time I looked at the board (unfortunately I didn't take a pic of the board then).

The problem I have is that I can't find a schematic for the power supply (I've searched under Bauhn, Polaroid and Makena which all appear to use the P.SWP.198HM.1 board for their power) and the little blue capacitors don't have any writing on them (the larger ones do) to tell me what to replace it with.

Shame I didn't take the TV back for a replacement when I first got it, as it rarely turned off on me right from the start and I've since learned that this is often a capacitor issue.

Can anyone help with either locating a schematic, or help me with some recommendations for replacements capacitors? Looks like I can order a replacement board from AliExpress for about $60USD so that's an option too, but I'd prefer to try and fix it myself first.

Offline maneatingmonkey

Re: Bauhn 65" 4K TV Power Supply - Blown Ceramic Disc Capacitor
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2021, 11:27:40 am »