Author Topic: Beginners repair of a sound card  (Read 3419 times)

Offline haggarTopic starter

• Contributor
Beginners repair of a sound card
« on: March 24, 2016, 07:35:14 pm »
Hey all,

First time posting, so sorry if I say something stupid!

I'm a computer engineer by trade, but I've decided to take up electronics as a hobby, and in front of me is a broken PCI express 1.0 sound card.  Now I realise this is probably a bit (lot) advanced for me, but it's in front of me, it's broken, so I thought it would be a fun project to take a look at. I'm not too worried if it never works again, but I figured it would be fun to take a look at it, give my new multimeter and soldering tools out for a spin, and see if I can learn a few things.

If the card is in the PC, it refuses to boot, doesn't even make it to POST, and when the card is removed, everything is fine.  On visual inspection the card appears OK, in that there are no scorch marks, bulging or leaking electrolytic caps, no blown traces, everything visually looks OK.

My question is this; what's a good place to start when attempting to figure out what's wrong with the card, or any piece of electronic equipment for that matter.  Like I said, I don't mind if it never works again, it would just be a fun learning experience to run some tests on it and see what I can learn/figure out.

I've got my multimeter at the ready, any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you guys, and hopefully I'll be pretty active on here. 

Thanks

Offline SAUL BRITTO

• Frequent Contributor
  • Don't Make a Mistake
Re: Beginners repair of a sound card
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2016, 08:53:12 pm »
Hey all,

First time posting, so sorry if I say something stupid!