Author Topic: BK Precision 2160A repair  (Read 49719 times)

Offline ZaUcYTopic starter

• Contributor
BK Precision 2160A repair
« on: June 25, 2014, 01:09:09 am »
Hello,
First time posting, and I am new to the blog.  I searched for the BK 2160A but there didn't seem to be much about repair, so sorry if this post is redundant.

So I bought a BK 2160A, for $50, because I just graduated and need to start building up my lab equipment collection.  As shown in the picture, the oscilloscope does power on, the CRT still works and is still very bright, the controls seems to be responsive, and there is some wave displayed.  I figured since the scope seems to be mostly working, fixing it should not be that hard, but I'm having a little trouble.  As you can see in the picture, the cal signal is displayed sort of curved square wave missing the falling edge.  I am borrowing an "Analog Discovery" from a friend to test the scopes cal signal, but I need to buy a micro-USB cable.

condition of the scope:
Very nice condition! it looks like someone bought this scope in 1997 and stored it in the original packaging(which it came with) until now.  The inside of the scope is equally as nice as the outside with minimal dust (I will post inside pictures later).

What I have done:
I have measured the low voltage rails, 5-16V, and all seem nominal.  There are some mid-range rails, 140-200V, that I will measure later because my DMM/probes are supposed to handle up to 1000V.  I am having trouble confidently probing around the scope due to two rails at -1.9kV and 12kV!!!

There is nothing visibly wrong with any components, but I still need to start testing the R/C/D values.  With all that said, I guess my main questions are:

1)  Is there an obvious culprit for waves looking like this?  Where should I mainly focus my debugging?