Author Topic: Bose Wave Radio/CD Hum after drop  (Read 1297 times)

Offline lcmtrTopic starter

Bose Wave Radio/CD Hum after drop
« on: September 07, 2020, 02:29:43 pm »
I recently took over a Bose Wave Radio/CD AWRC2G that was knocked off of its stand by an overly curious kitten.
Since then, the unit shows the following behaviour:

Disclaimer*: Unfortunately I cannot say whether some of these traits are normal as I am a beginner in the field and have only had the unit in this state.

1) Constant Hum/AC noise(?) of constant volume on both speakers.
    - Audible irrespective of input used. Louder than actual audio only below volume 20/100.
    - Volume of hum is constant over entire volume level range.
2) Audio plays on volume level 0*.
    - This is not bothersome as it is only noticeable when glueing the ear to the speakers. However might be an indicator to the component at fault.
3) Coil whine from display unit main IC section*
    - Not bothersome. Normal?

Given that the noise is present on all inputs I am led to believe that either the amplifier or the power conversion circuit is at fault.
I checked the PCBs but did not see any disconnected or burnt up components.

Schematics are available if needed.

Thanks in advance,
Lucas

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Bose Wave Radio/CD Hum after drop
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2020, 02:32:19 pm »
Possibly a cracked circuit board, or a main filter cap knocked loose.

I'm leaning toward a circuit board issue.

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2020, 03:21:20 pm »
Cannot make out any cracks on the circuit board.

The filter caps (C6, C16, C202, C205) also seem rock-solid, no broken solder joints and no room for wiggling.
Although their size might hide problems below them.

I also checked the -15V voltage regulator (U200) as suggested in another forum post here.
Measuring -15.28V so this also does not look like the cause of the problem.

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2020, 02:49:21 pm »