Author Topic: Broken Laminator (Thermal regulation issue?)  (Read 2305 times)

Offline MyHeadHzTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Broken Laminator (Thermal regulation issue?)
« on: June 06, 2016, 04:53:51 pm »
First and foremost, I'm a noob.  My knowledge is limited, so please excuse my mistakes!

Equipment available: an emtech multimeter, basic hakko soldering iron, and general screwdrivers, random resistors, diodes and whatnot.  I can get what i need if I need something else.  Not oscilloscope, though I hope one won't be necessary :o

How the thing works... the heating element is on or off.  Internally, it has a thermometer on one of the two (top/bottom) heating elements.  When it gets to the desired temperature, the elements turn off.  If it loses a degree of temp or two, they turn back on.  There is a digital readout (not pictured) along with basic keypad attached to the PCB via a ribbon cable.  The drive motor is controlled by the keypad and is manually on/off with a few speeds-- independent of any temperature settings.

I completely disassembled and cleaned it all.  The internal thermometer works and displays an accurate temperature on the screen, but whatever i set the temp cutoffs to is ignored.  If it's turned on, it is just on all the time.  I can still use it... I just have to wait for the correct temp, then I have about 1 min before it gets too hot.  Wash, rinse, repeat. :/

Possible ghetto bypass would be to put an in-line switch and manually switch the heating element off and on to maintain desired temp.  That would work, but I would like to fix it properly if possible.

I don't see anything obviously failed on the pcb.  No expanded caps, nothing melted or burned that I can see. Again, that's as far as I can tell.  I'm a noob, so take that with a grain of salt.  :)