Author Topic: Brushes in an universal motor: opinion on their condition  (Read 619 times)

Offline golden_labelsTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Brushes in an universal motor: opinion on their condition
« on: May 21, 2024, 11:24:30 pm »
I’m a newbie regarding electric motors. Worn out brushes I’ve seen previously were usually much shorter.(1) Would you consider these to be still fine?

These come from an universal motor from a cheap paper shredder. Fixing it is likely not financially reasonable, but I won’t mind learning something. :)

Also: yes, they were mounted perpendicular to their original profile.

(1) I’ve just realized I forgot to take photos showing the brushes’ size. They are 4×5 mm, currently 10 mm in length. Certainly still pushing well against the commutator.
People imagine AI as T1000. What we got so far is glorified T9.

Offline johansen

• Super Contributor
Re: Brushes in an universal motor: opinion on their condition
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2024, 01:23:11 am »
Whats the problem?

Offline Jeff eelcr

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2024, 01:41:22 am »
Most pictures look strangely worn, 1 looks normal.
Jeff

Offline perieanuo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2024, 07:24:25 am »
change them, pressure and shape taking rotor shape is the key

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2024, 07:34:17 am »
Looks weird, as if brushes were misaligned with commutator and one side has no wear at all, the same as 2/3 of commutator.  Does the brush size match the slot size properly? And are the brush slots located correctly above the commutator?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2024, 07:37:19 am by wraper »

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2024, 08:19:48 am »
Whats the problem?
The distal issue is overheating.