Author Topic: Cal Error in HP E4418B  (Read 911 times)

Offline jonsikulTopic starter

Cal Error in HP E4418B
« on: March 01, 2024, 11:35:03 am »
I am fairly new to the HP E4418B power meter + sensor business.
I repaired one E4418B that didn't show anything on the display, so far so good.
I purchased a used HP 8484A power sensor with a cable which is supposedly good (but not tested by the seller, good source he claims).

Now when I connect the HP 8484A power sensor to the power meter it detect is and measures around -70dBm. I can zero but I cannot calibrate it, the power meter gives Cal Error when I try.

Now, when I repaired the E4418B I removed the backup RAM battery so it defaulted to E4418A, and I am still waiting on a USB-GPIO adaptor to correct this.
When I turn on the reference source the power meter measures -37dBm, so it's definitely doing something. I measured the S11 roughly and it shows below -10dB return loss at least up to 3GHz. I have also measured the reference source on my scope and sure enough it gives 50MHz with stable output.

I don't have another power meter and I don't have another power sensor to swap out so I am not sure which is broken. Is there anything else I can try to narrow down where the fault lies?

Regards
Jonsikul

Online Miek

• Regular Contributor
Re: Cal Error in HP E4418B
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2024, 02:37:29 pm »
The 8484A only measures up to -20 dBm, so it can't be calibrated by connecting it directly to the 0 dBm reference on the power meter. The sensor would have originally been sold with an 11708A 30 dB reference attenuator, which should be used for the calibration.

Here's the operating manual for more detail: https://www.keysight.com/gb/en/assets/9018-05414/user-manuals/9018-05414.pdf

« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2024, 02:40:27 pm »
Sorry, I didn't mention that I do in fact have a HP 11708A between the power meter and the calibration port.

Online Miek

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2024, 03:15:36 pm »